Media Awards

2014 Highlights


There are three categories for the awards and they include:

English Print/French Print – This includes traditional newspaper articles as well as digital print as long as it appears on a news website with editorial oversight.

English Electronic/French Electronic – This includes radio and television feature documentaries or those that have been screened publicly.

English Integrated Media/French Integrated Media – Feature news stories that use multiple mediums to report on the issue of child sexual exploitation. For example, a newspaper may use print, online video and a social media platform to tell a story. Note, each medium should add something unique to the story rather than simply re-tell it in a different format.



Beyond Borders Media Award 2015 Nomination Form (doc)


1. Submissions must fall within the established time frame for a given year (September 1- August 31) and be submitted before the annual deadline of September 15. Nominations can originate from the journalist or a third party.

2. The work must go beyond news reporting (e.g., court cases or crime reports), putting the issue into context in order to help the reader/viewer come to an increased understanding of the many dynamics involved.

3. The work must be produced/published in Canada. The story can take place anywhere in the world but it must be Canadian journalism/filmmaking.

4. The work does not sensationalize the issue of CSE with titillating headlines or images that further exploit the children involved. The work must be judged according to the ethical reporting on children guidelines set out by UNICEF.

Save the Date English